#NOTRelationshipGoals: Hamlet

/////////SCENE 3.1////////////

OPHELIA

My lord, I have remembrances of yours

That I have longèd long to redeliver.

I pray you now receive them.

HAMLET

No, not I. I never gave you aught.

OPHELIA

My honored lord, you know right well you did.
HAMLET Ha, ha, are you honest?
OPHELIA My lord?
HAMLET Are you fair?
OPHELIA What means your Lordship?
HAMLET That if you be honest and fair, your honesty should admit no discourse to your  beauty.
OPHELIA Could beauty, my lord, have better commerce than with honesty?
HAMLET I did love you once.
OPHELIA Indeed, my lord, you made me believe so.
HAMLET You should not have believed me, for I loved you not.
OPHELIA I was the more deceived.
HAMLET Get thee to a nunnery. Why wouldst thou be a breeder of sinners? I am very proud, revengeful, ambitious, with more offenses at my beck than I have thoughts to put them in, imagination to give them shape, or time to act them in. What should such fellows as I do crawling between earth and heaven? We are arrant knaves all; believe none of us. Go thy ways to a nunnery.
OPHELIA O, help him, you sweet heavens!
HAMLET If thou dost marry, I’ll give thee this plague for thy dowry: be thou as chaste as ice, as pure as snow, thou shalt not escape calumny. Get thee to a nunnery, farewell. Or if thou wilt needs marry, marry a fool, for wise men know well enough what monsters you make of them. To a nunnery, go, and quickly too. Farewell.
OPHELIA
O, what a noble mind is here o’erthrown!
The courtier’s, soldier’s, scholar’s, eye, tongue, sword,
Th’ expectancy and rose of the fair state,
The glass of fashion and the mold of form,
Th’ observed of all observers, quite, quite down!
And I, of ladies most deject and wretched,
That sucked the honey of his musicked vows,
Now see that noble and most sovereign reason,
Like sweet bells jangled, out of time and harsh;
That unmatched form and stature of blown youth
Blasted with ecstasy. O, woe is me
T’ have seen what I have seen, see what I see!

 

////////////////SCENE 3.2//////////////

QUEEN Come hither, my dear Hamlet, sit by me.
HAMLET No, good mother. Here’s metal more
Attractive.
Hamlet takes a place near Ophelia.
HAMLET Lady, shall I lie in your lap?
OPHELIA No, my lord.
HAMLET I mean, my head upon your lap?
OPHELIA Ay, my lord.
HAMLET Do you think I meant country matters?
OPHELIA I think nothing, my lord.
HAMLET That’s a fair thought to lie between maids’
legs.
OPHELIA What is, my lord?
HAMLET Nothing.
OPHELIA You are merry, my lord.
HAMLET What should a man do but be merry?

///////////////SCENE 5.1///////////////

(in a fight with her brother right next to her grave)
HAMLET
I loved Ophelia. Forty thousand brothers
Could not with all their quantity of love
Make up my sum. What wilt thou do for her?

’Swounds, show me what thou ’t do.
Wilt weep, wilt fight, wilt fast, wilt tear
thyself,
Wilt drink up eisel, eat a crocodile?
I’ll do ’t. Dost thou come here to whine?
To outface me with leaping in her grave?
Be buried quick with her, and so will I.
I’ll rant as well as thou.

 

Leave a comment